Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Who does that?

Posted on by Ana Walia

"You guys are so cute. How did a guy like you end up with a girl like you?" A few of our friends asked us this with pointing us out when they came to our house warming party. 

“Isn't this a weird thing to ask someone at their house at their house warming party?” I asked him.  
It is but let's forget about it and sleep on the comfy bed we bought,” D replied.
D, do you remember how we met?” I looked at him and asked. 

It was a Friday morning, you were with some of your old office's colleagues and you guys sat across the table I and my colleagues were sitting. You wore a black pantsuit. Very hot by the way. But you looked so tired and restless maybe because you were hungry. Anyway, after 10 minutes, you guys finally settled at the table and ordered food. You ordered Chicken breast with white wine. You saw me looking at you and were so afraid that you just kept stealing glances at me but finally after good 15-20 minutes of starring, we smiled at each other. Gosh, I have never seen someone smile so pretty, I almost dropped my fork and I heard you chuckle. Until your food arrived, you played with your ring and sometimes checked your phone and were least interested in what the other women were talking about. You kept your focus on the food and quickly left when it was over. It was so weird dude, all of those women or if I might say pretty young women were sitting there and you just ate, paid your share and left. I almost choked on my food that day. Who does that?” he mentioned. 

Honestly, I never liked going to lunch with them because all they spoke about is how their guy is better than the others and what are their plans for getting married and stuff. I mean c'mon we live in the 21st century, we are independent strong women living the best of our lives with the love of our lives and all they could talk about is post-marriage things. I was so irritated that I just ordered that was easy and quick to eat and left by making an excuse that I have a client briefing. Also, I did see you that day, you wore a black shirt with dark blue washed jeans and sneakers I think and you had these cute spectacles you wear on. It was like I had seen someone after such a long time.  You were like a breath of fresh air like we have after we eat Mentos? I had been single for so long that I ruled out the dating part from my life like for real but there you were stealing glances at me which made me wonder as to why were you doing that. But before I could process things and my emotions I ended up doing the same. You know the sudden urge to just go to someone and talk and not think about the consequences? That was the feeling and I had to resist it because I didn't want to make a fool of me so, leaving was a better option." I added. 

By this time we were lying diagonally on our backs and we kept staring at our black ceiling and then at each other. It was weird because we haven't discussed this till today and going back to those memories reminds us how long we have walked together and there is so much to walk. He played with my hair and I kept tracing his ink with my fingers and we kept kissing each other in the middle of the conversation. 

And then I think we met at a book fair where I was accompanying my friend with his book launch and you just walked casually alone and started looking for the books. I remember you were wearing a green skirt and a black top with black boots and you had a list in your hand, which I assumed had the name of the books you wanted to purchase. First of all who wears boots in the summer season and who looks that hot at a book fair? As soon as I saw you, I just knew that I had to talk to you and get it over with so I left my friend struggling with the stall and followed you to about five stalls and then finally complimented you on the book I assumed that you were purchasing. What an idiot.” D laughed and said. 

Shut up for the boots and thank you for saying I looked hot. Also, that gesture was sweet. I didn't notice you because I don't go to book fairs or anywhere alone. I get anxious but I needed to go to the book fair that year. So, I had the name of the books written on a piece of paper that I thought I’d find, buy, and leave. But then, there you were. You complimented me for a book that I was seeing and not purchasing. It was a Kamasutra, D! I was just looking at it. I wanted to laugh so hard but I chose to ignore and giggle a little. Now, that is something I call stupid. But, after clearing all the doubts, it was so nice of you to accompany me to find my books and help me purchase some good ones too! We still have them. Also, I never knew that you were there for a friend and not stalking me. Can you imagine this was all 2 years ago and now, look at us,” I remembered and smiled!  

“I like this S. I like this comfort. I like coming back to home with papers scattered all over the floor, which clears out that you've had a productive day. I like coming home to the smell of pancakes and Nutella and loud music and sometimes soothing ones too! It's just how I am and how I imagined my future would be. Sure I imagined a hotter girlfriend but you're no less. I love how curly your hair is and how irritating you get when I ask you to not straighten them. I love how mad you go when there are no eggs in the fridge and no call from your sister or mother. I like all this. It feels like home. You feel home. I am not cleaning the coffee machine though. That’s on you,” D stated. 

I like your smell. It's weird I know but when you go on book tours, I sometimes wear your t-shirt the ones you asked me not to wear just because I need to feel you with me. I get super jealous when a female fan of yours DMs you cute mushy stuff and you reply being all nice and stuff but I keep it to myself because if you got to earn money with your cuteness then be it but at the end of the day, you come home to me and that's important. I am your home and I am clinging on to that part. I know I don't say this a lot but I am thankful that you spoke to me that day and we took a tuk-tuk ride to a nearby shady cafe, which surprisingly had delicious food,” I blurted. 

Damn. It's been 2 years right? And look at us now. We moved in together, bought a house together, got matching tattoos, coffee mugs too but one thing that has not changed is the color of our blankets and the fact that we sleep under the same black ceiling with white dots which you like to believe are the stars of our life. It took me so much of guts to come up to you that day but now when I come home and see you half-dead on your writing table or couch, I feel home. It's like my skin misses your skin and when they meet, they feel complete. You complete me S. No one in this world can make me feel how you do,” D said and kissed me. 

D”? I looked at him. 
S”? He looked at me. 
Let's sleep?” I asked him and he just smiled.  
I love you.
I love you,” we said at the same time and went to sleep. 

There have been times when I wake up at night and kiss him because I don’t want to miss out on anything. He does the same and he thinks I don’t remember but I do. Also, he’ll clean the coffee machine tomorrow because I’m cute and D loves me a little too much. 
 

Comment on this post