Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Interventions are UGLY!

Posted on by Ana Walia

I sat across the table and stared at you staring me back. 
That smug on your face showcased that you weren't happy with what you read and wanted to confront me. 
You held a Marlboro cigarette in one hand and a glass of whiskey in another. 
It has been 15 days since we last spoke and exactly 15 days since my article about you came out. 
I knew you would call as soon as you'd read but I was not sure you'd do that or not but to my stars, you did read and called me.
"Why did you write this?" You said after 20 minutes of starring, puffing, and drinking. 
"Because it's all true" I replied while keeping my temper in its place 
"You know this is bullshit right. No one is going to believe this" you replied as you threw my article on my face.
"You did and that's enough", I said as I picked up my article. 
"Don't fucking kid with me, take it down now" you yelled at me and everyone around us started looking at us.
"Why does it bother you so much? Is all of that true?" I raised a question at you which I am pretty sure pissed you even more. 
"Are you talking about the truth now? You exaggerated things and you know that" you said and it seemed like your senses were coming back. 
"You know I read everything and saw you losing your shit when they confronted you. Why would you do that to me bub?" I asked you with a sad feeling because every emotion rushed back
"I have said it like a million times, I did nothing. BUB!," you emphasized on bub so much that it seemed like you were so angry 
"If you did nothing, why didn't you call me?" I asked you again with hope 
"I was done explaining to you the same thing man. I was drunk and high. I flirted with her when I was not in my senses. I come back home to you na or use to. I thought you'll understand but you didn't," you explained but there was no guilt 
"Yeah. I couldn't. Okay! I am not taking down the article just for you to know and you can come home to get all other stuff you've left," I gave you the necklace you had gifted me on my birthday last year and I think my eyes teared up
"I don't want any of it to keep it," you replied angrily and threw the necklace away. 

I paid for my share of the food and left. I was hoping you'd follow me to stop me but you didn't. While I was waiting for the elevator, I took a glance at you puffing up the cigarette and staring at me like I did something wrong. I needed you to call out my name and tell me that you still love me and God knows I would have thought about getting back together. But you just sat there glaring at me like it was all my fault. 

At that moment I realized that I had missed waking up to your face, making conversations to you about nothing yet everything, and to miss you and looking at you after so many days made the butterflies in my stomach come alive. But, the way you reacted at my feelings I think I missed myself more. I had to walk away from you even when it broke me but it was necessary to find myself before I find you. 
 

Comment on this post