Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

..

Posted on by Ana Walia

My heart is broken, shattered and scared all at the same time because of the things I saw on the Internet last night. I couldn’t sleep & cried myself the entire night after seeing the horrific videos of a Sikh man & his 16-year-old kid getting abused & assaulted by the cops just because they refused to pay the bribe. I am mortified that I live in a society where doing the right thing takes you in jail and doing the ill deed makes you powerful. 

I am a Sikh and I’ve been raised up with respect, dignity & honesty. That is what my family & religion has taught me. Never fear while doing the right thing. And if we’re not secure in a country we call HOME, where should we go? There are riots that take place because a section of the community prefers to eat beef but the other section prays to it. But, what about disrespecting our religion? Who has given you the right to touch a turban? That’s our prized possession just like your beef is to you or a pig is to you. How can you even think to do such a monstrous behavior to someone? How do you sleep at night with a thought that you lashed out on someone who was innocent?

Every time the Sikh community has proven to be the one who will stand up for you irrespective of caste, color, creed or gender. And this is how you repay us right? People stand up for rapes, molestation, and all other things but no one stands up for Sikh community so strongly that we know that there are some people backing us up. Honestly, we don’t need anyone but it’s a human thing to back up a community who has opened the doors of there holy place for all, have been the first one to serve the people in need in case of any natural calamity. You have just limited us to your jokes, your extravagant movies, memes & nothing. We don’t need movies to be made on us, books written about us because let’s be honest, you have no idea how our people are, so leave that part to us. 

 

God bless you all because I am scared & horrified that I have to live in this world. 

#WaheguruMeharKarna 🙏🏻

 

PS: No offence to anyone with this but I had to stand up for what I feel is right.

Comment on this post