Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

A journey back Home!

Posted on by Ana Walia

Picture Courtsey: "Abuelita" by George Owen Wynne Apperley

Picture Courtsey: "Abuelita" by George Owen Wynne Apperley

I visited home today, 
It was a strange feeling because it has been a while. 
The sky looked a combination of blue and white, 
The garden looked greener with a bunch of roses bloomed, 
The verandah looked empty with vehicles taking up space, 
The rooms were quiet with people occupied on their phones. 
I sat by the Gurudwara and prayed just like I prayed on my last day in the house
I went into my room to take a glimpse and I saw my things scattered 
No one had visited my room since I left. 
The nightstand had a lamp that was still on since the day I left 
The bed had crumbled sheets and no one bothered to make them correct 
The glass I drank my last sip of water from still had the water I left 
The refrigerator had nothing stacked up; at least they had time to take out the food I thought 
I lay on the bed for a while and saw the fan moving really slow, it was still dirty since the time I left 
The pillows I rested my head on had no cotton in it so my head just dived into the left material 
I got up and went into the kitchen, as I was hungry, I saw nothing had changed, the kitchen was still very dirty as it always was 
I looked for something to eat and found nothing; they don't keep any food in here 
I reached out to the cook and ask her for something but she couldn't hear me 
I have grown old and weak maybe that's why I thought 
I went out in verandah and it was still very quiet 
I visited my children's room and I saw my grandchildren playing,
smiling and happy 
Their smiles made my heart full and I decided to leave again 
I went out to see my ride waiting for me, 
"Are you ready to go back to heaven?
I looked at their faces and said "I am now".



It's been a year since I left the earth but God's generous and let us visit our homes to peak a little into the lives we were a part of! I am at peace now.

 

 

Comment on this post